top of page
  • Neurodivergent Doctor

Autistic Play is Beautiful

For neurodiversity celebration week, lets talk about the beauty of Autistic play.


When my first kid was identified as Autistic, the usual diagnostic criteria were followed. I was interviewed about how my kid communicated, interacted, played, and did daily activities. I filled out milestone forms. The focus was on what my kid couldn’t do, that typically developing kids the same age can do. This is because a diagnosis of autism means a person has to have: social communication difficulties, and restrictive, repetitive patterns of interest. A diagnosis of autism also means these things cause difficulty to the person, such that they need support to manage day to day life. It's the medical model of disability.


An Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule (ADOS) was completed with my kid. ADOS is a standardised autism assessment, where an assessor plays and interacts with a child. They do a set of activities designed to draw out autistic features. The assessor codes and scores what the child does, to see if it matches with autism. I watched my kid’s assessment. I could see the play was adorable, but not typical. The feedback was all about what my kid’s play was lacking. So much was lacking! Which made me feel sad and worried.


I felt a fool, for not noticing my kid's play was so lacking and incorrect. For a while I couldn’t enjoy watching my kid play. It made me feel guilty I hadn’t taught my kid to play “properly”, and for not getting help sooner.


What did I do next? I dove into deep, hyperfocussed research about autism (thanks, neurodivergent hyperfocus!). I discovered stories, videos, blogs, podcasts, social media and research by the Autistic and neurodivergent community. I soon learned Autistic development is not “wrong”. Autistic brain development, like other neurodivergences, is just on a different path.


Neuro = brain

Divergent = different direction


Autistic children progress superbly along their path of development, depending on:

  • How their environment and caregivers support them

  • How safe they feel

  • The opportunities they are given

  • Whether their autonomy is supported – to follow their curiosity and intent, or to set boundaries when they feel uncomfortable

  • Whether they have loving, warm relationships with caregivers who meet their attachment needs



My neurodivergent family's play could be described as restricted, repetitive patterns of interest, lacking neurotypical communication and social interaction. Our play is also beautiful, fun, rich with connection and Autistic identity. Including:


  • Parallel play. Childhood developmental milestones teach us kids move past parallel play (playing alongside other kids, not together), and into group play, after toddlerhood. We are warned if kids don't learn to play collaboratively they might have a developmental problem. But I still love parallel play! Group situations are a massive effort thanks to my slower information processing, sensory sensitivities and communication differences. It's the same for my kids. But doing my own thing, in my own space, near my family, enjoying one another’s company - that is bliss. Like watching our screens, drawing, reading, or lego.

Two autistic children are sitting on a couch, each reading a book. Their faces are obscured by a flare sticker for privacy reasons.
Parallel play - reading books
  • Arranging and sorting items in appealing ways.

An Autistic child's arrangement of silver teaspons and drinkbottles, carefully placed wooden floorboards.
Arrangement - spoons and drink bottles
Empty contact lens cases, lined up on a table, they make an appealing row of identical translucent domes.
Arrangement - empty contact lens containers
  • Noticing perfection in the details and colours around us.

An Autistic toddler stands poised on the edge of a play mat, captivated by a yellow balloon which the child holds close to their face. The child's face is obscured by a flare sticker for privacy reasons.
Captivated by a balloon
An Autistic toddler viewed stands, their back facing the viewer, outside in the dark in front of a huge Christmas tree covered in twinkling fairy lights. There is snow on the pavement and the toddler is dressed in winter clothes.
Awed by Christmas tree lights
  • Getting our proprioceptive and deep pressure needs met – lying on the floor, squeezes, squashes, bouncing and swinging

An Autistic toddler and an Autistic newborn are cuddling on the floor, on top of a soft playmat. Their faces are obscured by flare stickers for privacy reasons.
Floor cuddles
Two Autistic children on a trampoline, lying on their stomachs . One child's head rests on the other child's back, enjoying a squash.
Trampoline squashes

Now, when I watch my kids playing Autistically I feel pride and delight. You can see for yourself why! How do you love to play?

578 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page